My Trek To Tarsar Marsar

Moustache Escapes
3 min readMar 20, 2021

--

Is it since I was born in the middle of mountains or is it that they have actually cast some spell on me, I just know that I come from the mountains. Since I was a youngster, I had heard stories from the senior citizens in the family about different Nags (springs) as well as Sars (lakes)that our beautiful Kashmir Valley was bestowed with.

Though a lot of these were conveniently obtainable by a vehicle, there were those alpine lakes which could be reached only on foot! That’s since they sat very high up in the mountain passes and valleys. You might only hike or go there on horseback.

The mountainside always bid me. However, it was only in 2018, that I got an opportunity to see a part of my dream become a reality. A wee bit late in life, however, worth every bit. I chose to take place my initial long-haul expedition to Kashmir. Being on the wrong side of the forties with no physical fitness regimen in place, fretted me.

I spent days checking the site of a preferred hiking company that noted greater than a loads hikes throughout the Uttarakhand and also Kashmir with a “durability” rating for each. I selected a “moderate to tough” expedition in between the different “simple” as well as “hard” ones, and also naturally, it needed to be only the Himalayas of Kashmir. This was in August of 2018.

It was a solo trip for me, in the feeling, I was mosting likely to trek with a number of unidentified travelers from throughout the country. So, this was solo yet with the confidence that a group offers. I selected Tarsar Marsar Trek — the twin lakes, up in the Kolahoi mountains. I obtained registered as well as e-met the other 20+ trekkers I was to select. This was June and also the expedition was arranged for August (6–13).

We were asked to confirm our fitness levels and begin a routine run, with the results to be submitted on a mobile app. It was serious stuff, I assumed! Obviously, I had met the preliminary testing standards of having no serious ailments and also my BMI being within the called for limitations. The only point to be developed was that I might maintain the extended periods of walking/climbing in a high elevation setting.

The travelling company was really certain regarding the speed at which each individual would walk because they have a limited plan to comply with. So, it had actually notified us ahead of time that anyone who is too slow-moving so as to slow down the entire team down, would certainly be sent back! This concern was my biggest inspiration.

I made a promise to myself that come what may, I would certainly not be the one to come back without seeing what I had laid out for.

--

--

Moustache Escapes
0 Followers

Book Tours, Treks, Activities, Adventures, Backpacker Hostels at Moustache Escapes. Get the best offers and deals. https://moustachescapes.com